Success is not happiness

Nancy Roars
2 min readAug 8, 2020

--

Happiness is something we all expect to obtain in our life but some of us find it hard to truly feel fulfilled. I am guilty of this feeling. Why is it hard to be happy even when one’s life isn’t too bad? Or better yet why are we not happy even when everything is going as planned?

My take on the problem is that we tell ourselves future events will lead to having a more fulfilling life but truthfully once we get there we question it and find other reasons as to why we are not happy. We keep feeding ourselves expectations and daydreams instead of being grateful for our current timeline. Now I understand we are all human and we have every right to feel every emotion and set goals to have a better life. I do think though we should not restrict our happiness just because we haven’t reached certain points in our timeline. Sometimes what truly makes us happy are the simplest of things but most importantly we should live in the present moment.

We do not know how far our life span will be, what we do know is there is a today. So why make today torturous. I’m sure you’ve read or heard Jim Carrey’s famous quote,

“I often said that I wish people could realize all their dreams and wealth’s and fame, so that they could see that it is not where you are going to find your sense of completion”

I couldn’t agree more. I have not reached extreme success but even when achieving my most significant goals I find myself unsatisfied.

Logic, an American rapper, songwriter, record producer, and author recently retired at age thirty. In an interview he admitted that success in his music career was no longer his source of happiness and where he found true joy was his first born child and wife. This man paved his career path from humble beginnings. As anybody else, he came with struggles and pursued what he did not have but once reaching the highest peak point after sometime he realized it wasn’t what he really wanted. Now this is no surprise because we all change and our priorities, motivations, and purpose in life evolve as well.

There are countless of examples of many individuals whom have experienced this. There is no fulfillment and we keep adding pressures, goals, and expectations to ourselves but I tell you this, live the present. Experience life each day. Find your muse, it does not have to be extravagant, or extraordinary to the eyes of others. Follow your bliss for today. Expectations can help you visualize what you want in life but it is important to find happiness with oneself without solely depending on success.

--

--

Nancy Roars

I’m an artist but I find myself writing freely as a hobby at times too. I enjoy to read, learn, and appreciate other creator’s work.